Yates County Sheriff Ron Spike Elected to Board of Directors of the National Sheriffs' Association

Yates County Sheriff Ronald Spike was recently elected to become a member of the Board of Directors of the National Sheriffs’ Association. Sheriff Spike is one of 21 Sheriffs across the country who serve on NSA’s Board of Directors, and as a Director will help develop and implement the goals and programs of the organization. Sheriff Spike had been appointed as a member of the Board to fill a vacancy, and was then elected to the position at the NSA’s Summer Training Conference held on June 20-24, 2009, in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Sheriff Spike also serves as the Chairman of the Board of the New York State Sheriffs’ Association Institute, Inc., and is active in many statewide programs. He is a member of the Municipal Police Training Council for the State of New York, and served as Chairman of that agency for 10 years. Sheriff Spike was joined at the NSA conference by Sheriffs John York (Livingston County), Phil Povero (Ontario County), Gary Maha (Genesee County), James Voutour (Niagara County), Ron Cary (Madison County), Dan Middaugh (Oneida County), Vincent DeMarco (Suffolk County) and Kevin Walsh (Onondaga County), Michael Tabolt (Lewis) and James Kralik (Rockland).